BAP041 Paul McGuire & Offering ELs an Opportunity to Show Gratitude

Hi EL Advocate friends!

I know many of you are in the home stretch of the first semester of the school year.  You’ve earned a break for sure.  If you’re in the classroom or supporting teachers of ELs, take that well-deserved break but know that your hard work is so important. I appreciate all you’ve done and all you continue to do for our students and teachers. I’m grateful for you and this is a show all about gratitude!

Listen to “BAP041 Paul McGuire and Offering ELs an Opporunity to Show Gratitude” on Spreaker.

Here is something that might give you a boost here in the last few days of 2018.  I did something special with VoicEdRadio on Wednesday, Dec 19.  We had a LIVE Boosting Achievement show and other VoicEd content creators joined in.

My spotlight guest was the amazing Paul McGuire!  I have been following Paul for years and I love his new Podcast Broadcast show with Stephen Hurley on Voiced Radio.  He lives in Ottawa, Canada and is a retired principal and thought-leader in the field.  You can follow him on Facebook and also subscribe to his blog. Paul expertise is not specific to English learners but his innovative way of thinking can serve all of us.

A few years ago, I heard my first education podcast and Paul’s ideas and conversation with Derek Rhodenizer was what pulled me back into the world of educational broadcasting.

So Paul has agreed to be on the show but he didn’t  know it would be LIVE.

On the show you’ll also hear from Stephen Hurley, the father of VoicEd Radio, Ramona Meharg of I Wish I Knew EDU and Jen Cort of Third Space with Jen Cort.

Gratitude & Serving Others

We talked about  gratitude projects and the effects they are having on our practice. I’m making some direct connections to service projects my ELs are doing so I know you’ll want to hear about that.  And Paul is a very innovative mind so you’ll love hearing his thoughts on professional development  and serving at-risk youth.  He is passionate about serving the underprivileged youth in Ottawa and he gives us some great inspiration as he describes the work he is doing with Christie Lake Kids and what he knows about how to break the cycle of poverty.

You can find all of us on voiced.ca. It was fun to do a live show & it’s now replaying in the VoicEd Radio stream.  You can go to the site to hear live and prerecorded shows throughout the day.

You could also download the VoicEdRadio app and listen through that. I sincerely appreciate everyone listening and interacting with me.

Bitmoji Image

If you’re in our area of the world, I’m wishing you a restful winter break.

If you’re like me, you’re just about out of gas. But remember that there are students who can’t wait for the break to be over to see you again.

HUGS,

Carol

PS:  Let’s stay connected on Twitter (@MsSalvaC) & Facebook (Facebook.com/SalvaBlog) over the break!

PSS:  We are taking a 1 week break from the #BoostingAchievement twitter chats we do on Thursdays.  We *should* be back on Dec 27th.   Reach out if you want to help me host one!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *